30 BY 30!!! Let’s do this.

18 Jun

fireworksI’ve heard a number of great things about 29, and I just really think this year of life is going to be the best ever.  But I think the thing I’m looking forward to the most is accomplishing my 30 by 30 List.

What is a 30 by 30 List you ask?  It’s a list of 30 things you would like to accomplish before you turn 30.  For me, I am pooling from things I’ve always wanted to do, mistakes I’ve already made, mistakes I maybe should have made, and things that will just be plain INappropriate as a 30 year old (but at 29 you can still say “I’m in my 20s” without fear of judgement (hopefully))

That said, I would like to officially document and share with you my “30 by 30 List”

  1. Learn to drive a stick
  2. Pull an all-nighter (non-work related)
  3. Go to a concert of a favorite band from high school (aka – I’d really just love to see Yellowcard for the 32403384924th time)
  4. Get a kiss from a dolphin
  5. Listen to jazz music in the deep south
  6. Go streaking
  7. Get a professional headshot for LinkedIn
  8. Get rid of my college tshirts by way of making my very own tshirt quilt
  9. Learn all the lyrics to a classic rap song (suggestions?)
  10. Go to a psychic
  11. College drinking shenanigans
    1. Shotgun a beer
    2. Drink a beer from a beer bong
    3. Complete a power hour
    4. Drink a beer on the roof
  12. Go to ALL the doctors and get checked up (I loathe this one.. Grow. Up. Sarah.)
  13. Attend a Broadway show in New York
  14. Take a Richard Simmons cardio class taught by Richard Simmons himself
  15. Pet a tiger
  16. Register to vote
  17. Purchase and smoke weed
  18. Learn how to do my hair and makeup
  19. Visit a new state (Michigan and Wyoming, you’re on my list!)
  20. Float a river
  21. Read 12 books, including:
    1. The Bible (cover to cover)
    2. Trashy romance novel
    3. Shakespeare play
    4. Classic novel
    5. Anything by C.S. Lewis
    6. TAKING SUGGESTIONS!!
  22. Spend a weekend in Napa
  23. Go skinny dipping
  24. Go to the Bonus Round on WHEEL! OF! FORTUNE!
  25. Finish Gilmore Girls
  26. Ride an elephant
  27. Take a striptease lesson
  28. Start sending Christmas cards and never stop!
  29. Sleep on a futon
  30. Have a destination 30th birthday!!!  Details to come… 😉

This has been so fun – I have LOVED hearing suggestions and maybe you even found a few of yours in there 🙂  Let me know if you are able to make any of these happen, would like to participate in any of the adventures, or just want to hangout sometime 🙂

LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Here are some honorable mentions that I realized I can wait until after 30… but that I would still like to do:

Buy a Kitchenaid mixer, eat something I grow myself, take a cooking class, take a couples dance class, sew a [non tshirt] quilt, take piano lessons, make sushi, go on a hot air balloon ride, buy a decent tv, get a job with a desktop computer, host a family holiday, buy a piece of furniture from Craiglist and make it my own, get certified to teach, attend a TED Talk, compile my favorite recipes into a cookbook, journal, see the Northen Lights, budget for monthly massages, buy a house/condo/apt/whatever, name my Top 10 favorite freckles, spend a month in Africa

2 Responses to “30 BY 30!!! Let’s do this.”

  1. Shayla June 22, 2015 at 4:56 pm #

    Interesting list. Rapper’s Delight is a great “classic” rap to belt out at any point! Definitely register to vote – preferably before this next election 🙂

  2. Megan Brownell August 5, 2015 at 10:59 am #

    I never told you… but I love your list. I am totally game for any and everything 🙂 I’m 32 and haters are going to hate!

    megan

Leave a Reply

