An Opportunity to Date Boston’s Most Eligible Bachelor!!

26 Jun

This weekend Colin hosted the ‘7th Annual Rhode Island Getaway’ at his family’s beach house near Narragansett.  Last year was my first year attending and it was awesome – Colin is a great and generous host and everyone always has a good time 🙂  Here’s a great pic from the weekend:

Beach Day at the 7th Annual Rhode Island Getaway

I didn’t think I was going to be able to go on the trip this year until I found out that my buddy, who we loving call ‘Wolfie’, was planning on leaving the city at 9p Friday night – I didn’t get out of work until 7:30p so this was perfect!  He invited me to tag along on his 8p dinner reservations in the North End prefacing that it’d be him and four guys, of which I’m friends with two of them.  Why not?  I could use a nice glass of Italian red wine, homemade pasta, and a few laughs to wind down after a crazy work week.  I walked into the restaurant at 8p on the dot and was more than surprised to see a table of 15 GUYS.  The dinner Wolfie invited me to was in fact a guys’ night out for the birthday of a guy I had never met and even better… Wolfie was nowhere to be found.  Great.

My first instinct was to run out of the restaurant, text Wolfie, say I got caught up at work and just meet him at 9p… but someone had already spotted me.  Something about wearing a baby blue mini skirt and a loud floral print shirt made it a little difficult to blend in?  Hmmm. weird.  I told myself  ‘play it cool, Sarah.  Just. Be. Cool.’ and casually walked up to the 15 person man table.  I approached the only two people I knew at the table and simultaneously tapped both of them on the shoulder.  They turned around and their speechless shock quickly turned into laughter after about .41 seconds followed by a “Whhhhhat are you doing here?!?!”  I did what any normal person would do and slowly backed myself into a corner.  Quite literally.

After being offered the open chair in the smack dab middle of the table, I made the executive decision to politely decline the invitation and grab dinner and a glass of wine on my own.  As I left, I quickly accepted the fact that this was going to put us a little behind our 9p ETD to the Rhode Island Getaway.  I honestly didn’t mind too much – I love, appreciate and respect guy time probably more than they do so I found a somewhat empty pizza place and sat myself down at the bar and ordered my first drink.

All was fine and well until 3 HOURS (and 4 beers) later when I received a text from Wolfie: “Change of plans.  You are coming with me to the bachelor show tryouts tmrw, then we go to rhode island.  Deal?” 

No deal.

Lord have mercy on his sweet baby face when he showed up to my bar at 11p to plead his case.  The plea included a newspaper clipping for evidence, shaking his clasped hands in front of my folded arms for dramatic effect, the phrase “eeeeeeveryone says I should do it” for teenage soap opera effect, there may or may not have been a single tear… I guess you could say he pretty much did everything short of getting down on his hands and knees and begging.  Stone Cold Sarah (with the help of my new BFF bartender) ruled against all his pleas.  Verdict: Rhode Island Getaway.  Stat. 

When we made it to the car, he shifted his strategy from logistics to emotions and pursued an alternative verdict by telling me I was causing him to “miss his only opportunity to find true love.” I could not even formulate words to create a response, so I punched him.  Repeatedly.  Because that’s how I solve my problems.

For fear of his life, he made his best effort to change the subject and I made my best effort to let it go.  The remaining hour or so in the car was pretty normal and we just talked about fun, normal things.  We ended up getting to Colin’s house around 1a and had a super fun night 🙂

The next morning we were all sitting around eating breakfast and Wolfie decided to take his case, Wolfie vs. The Bachelor Tryouts, to the grand jury (aka our friends).  The trial in front of the grand jury went on for the better half of 15 minutes and the final verdict was unanimous… he should go to The Bachelor tryouts.  Wolfie was ultimately satisfied with the verdict and everyone let it settle for a minute until one of the male members of the jury said “Wait do you mean be the one guy with all the girls??? Oh yeah – you totally don’t have a chance.”  This was the curveball that no one was expecting which sparked an entirely new discussion.  Voices raised, muffins were thrown, exes showed up as witnesses, LOUD NOISES!!!! … it got messy.  Wolfie decided not end up going because a) no one would go with him, and b) he didn’t have anything to wear. 

As my apology to Wolfie for being the cause of this missed opportunity, I hereby dedicate this blog post to helping Wolfie find true love and hereby dub him as The Most Eligible Bachelor in Boston.  I can honestly say from the bottom of my heart that I wouldn’t do this for just anyone. 

If you’d like an opportunity to date this bachelor, please send your bio with a picture and why you think you would be a good match to s.iverson08@gmail.com  Serious inquiries only, please.

~Meet Boston’s Most Eligible Bachelor ~

yes ladies, he’s single

Age:  27
Occupation:  Investment Analyst
Favorite color:  Green.  I never realized how that sounds when placed immediately after my answer to occupation.  
Hobbies:  I’m mainstream.  I enjoy running, cycling, yoga (really), and going to the gym on a regular basis (3-4 times per week).  When in season, (like as a weekend trip) I enjoy snowboarding, hiking, scuba diving, or traveling somewhere.  Say, Newport RI to see the mansions, or the Boston Harbor Islands, or Gloucester.  I like to do things. 
Perfect date that he would take you on: Check this out.  A perfect date would go in this order.  Of course, this “perfect date” could end after any of these activities and be a solid day, but a home run would be meeting someone with whom I enjoyed myself enough to want to continue (and vice versa, obvi).  It would go like this.  Saturday morning.  Meet for coffee.  Intro’s and get to know.  Volunteer somewhere through the morning.  Head out to lunch.  Go for a short hike, walk, or (insert local activity here).  Take a timeout for down time.  Yup.  Go out for drinks and dinner on the town.  Not Denny’s, and not Top of the Hub.  Closer to the latter.  Maybe Maggianos Italian Restaurant, or the Beehive Club in the South End.  Perhaps most importantly, this dinner would roll into a night activity.  I would want the date to choose from a few select options, which would include;  Staying at said restaurant for live music of any kind.  Michael Buble concert.  Hitting the Havanna Club (or taking Salsa lessons).  Jamie Cullum concert.  Karaoke.  Going to my place for a move.  I like movies, I hate TV.  
Ideal woman:  
 Traits she should have…
(1) Personality.  Please have one.  Of course we will find out if our personalities are compatible.  But, be someone!  
(2) Intelligence.  Have an opinion on life.  Be ready to debate it.
(3) Beauty.  Yes, on the inside, too.  At least I’m honest.  🙂
(4) Traditional Values.  I’ll know it when I see it.  Also, if she is an INTJ or INFJ on the Myers Briggs Personality Test, have her reach out.  I’m an ENFP and we are supposedly a good match.  I typically pair up well with someone who is a planner, forward-thinking, organized, and independent.  
 
Describe yourself in one sentence:  An “ENFP” or “Champion / motivator” type, who is quick to excitement and boredom.  In a word, Tigger.
 
There it is!! I look forward to your submissions!
 
Wolfie – don’t you worry, I got your back on this 😉
 
 
19 Responses to “An Opportunity to Date Boston’s Most Eligible Bachelor!!”

  1. Catie June 27, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    Hmm… what are you getting at with this wolfie? “Going to my place for a move.”

  2. dani June 27, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    haha this is awesome!!

  3. Cassie Ladd June 27, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    How…. how are you so awesome Sarah!?! Tell me when you come back to Texas, pretty please. Oh and Wolfie seems like a real catch. Bon chance!

    • bostonbeautyblog June 28, 2012 at 5:23 am #

      I love him. I’m putting this on my facebook! Good luck! … next time there’s a dinner of 15 guys bring me!

      • highfiverson June 29, 2012 at 11:53 am #

        Thanks for putting on FB!!! I hope we can find him some true love!

    • highfiverson June 29, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      Wolfie is a catch! Tell all your single girl friends 🙂

  4. Nick Shultz June 29, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    This is awesome.

  5. Chef Roman December 14, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    I’m slowly playing catch up….and getting “up-to-speed” on all things SI.

    • highfiverson December 15, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

      haha oh no…. yeah this could get embarrassing

      • Chef Roman December 18, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

        I’m sooooooo intrigued now…..

  6. Mandy January 4, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    Hahahahahahhahahahahaah….. this is so much funnier 6 months later and after reading the comments… oh Wolfie.. saw him the other night btw and he has a lady friend!

    • highfiverson January 4, 2013 at 11:26 am #

      oh man, i love it 🙂 and yes, still pretty funny… poor Wolfie, but so happy for him ❤

  7. Brittney January 9, 2013 at 1:54 am #

    He’s a catch!
    Happy to snag him up!

    • highfiverson January 11, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

      he sure is!! send me an email – I’ll set you up 😉

  8. Ashley March 14, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Is he still single? 🙂

    • highfiverson March 15, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

      I moved and haven’t caught up with him in forever! Send me your profile and I’ll be happy to pass it along 🙂

  9. Wolfie June 28, 2016 at 7:36 pm #

    Facebook reminded me about this post today. Married now, thanks to this post. That is all. For now.

    • highfiverson June 28, 2016 at 8:53 pm #

      d’awwwwww Wolfie – couldn’t be happier for you 🙂 Sending my love from Nashville!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Thank You to the Patriots | highfiverson - April 16, 2013

    […] Definitely can’t forget about the available bachelors!! (LOVE YOU WOLFIE!) An Opportunity to Date Boston’s Most Eligible Bachelor […]

Leave a Reply

