The Month That Was

30 Apr

I don’t know if you’ve noticed this about my blog, but my posts are generally one-off goofy Sarah stories rather than a detailed diary of my day-to-day life… this is for two reasons:  1. I like to keep my personal life well… personal.  2.  I don’t want to turn in to one of those bloggers that details what I had for breakfast because let’s be real… you don’t need to know that I eat cold Dominos pizza for breakfast at least once a week.  What?  You’re not supposed to do that after college?

That said, the month of April 2012 (hereon referred to as ‘The Month That Was’) has been incredible and I woud like to detail it for you…  consider this me getting personal.  I promise I won’t do this often.

To kick off the greatness, Brittany introduced me to this gem at YouTube night.  I’m still laughing.  Thanks Brittany!!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcuI6K9daIw

I spent a weekend in Shirley, MA with UltiMegan.  Got the tour of Circle B Barns.  Rode Horses.  Drove a semi truck.  Went jeeping.  Shot guns.  Hung out with Megan’s awesome family.  Had a bonfire.  Flagged down a train to pick me up and take me back to Boston.  I love Shirley, MA.

Had an excellent brunch on Easter Sunday hosted by the one and only Paul-Mark-Tim trio.  Great food and even better company (if that’s possible with how incredible that ham was!!! And the homemade mac and cheese.  MMMMMM.  still thinking about it)

I received an email telling me I got Opening Day tickets to Fenway for the 100th anniversay!!!!!!! I hope this isn’t sacriligeous, but I prayed for tickets and the Lord heard my prayer.  I’m not joking – how else do I explain tickets?!  It was SO MUCH FUN!!!!

  

I saw this photo while reading the news on my morning commute.  It made me laugh.  Aloud.

I got to check Speed Dating off my bucket-list.

Went to a play at the Middle East – I didn’t know they had plays there! It was a ton of fun.

Was introduced to Caine’s Arcade – if this doesn’t touch your heart… it’s likely you don’t have one.  http://vimeo.com/40000072

Window washing day at the office!!! I wrote my favorite washers a note that said “Looking good guys – thanks for cleaning our windows!!”  They didn’t see it.. instead, they just stared at me wondering why I was taking their picture (for the 329403242nd time in the past two years…) but seriously.  HOW COOL IS THAT

Mitch hosted one of his first BBQs of the season.  If you haven’t been to a Mitch BBQ, add it to your ladel list… and if Mitch + BBQ didn’t convince you… check out this picture and try telling me you don’t want to go!

When I ate breakfast at one of my favorite diners near my apartment, my favorite waitress FINALLY recognized me.  I’ve only gone there just about every weekend for almost two years now.  It was a great day.

I read/journaled on my favorite spot on the Esplanade.  I watched a crew team load up, row out, come back and go home.  Something about that just makes my heart smile.

Had a picnic on the waterfront int the Nort End.  The idea was to play bocce ball and picnic, but alas… we did not have bocce balls.  We ended up finding a spot in view of Bunker Hill, the Zakim Bridge and the USS Constitution AT GOLDEN TIME.  It was a completely perfect evening.  I love Boston.

Megan and I laid in bed one night watching Grey’s on my laptop.  It felt like college.  I love us.

I got a late night text on Patriots Day Eve to go to the Sox game ON Patriots Day.  Some people really know the way to this girl’s heart 🙂   I took my twin with me… we seriously have so much fun that I bet we’re illegal in at least 86 countries. 

You know you’ve found a friend for life when she will post this picture of you on Facebook and you’re not even mad:

My iPhone finally stopped autocorrecting “baller” to “ballet”  — you have no idea how long I have been waiting for this moment.

Took a 4:45a adventure to Battle of Lexington and Concord reenactment on the Lexington Green (where it actually took place).  IT WAS AWESOME!!!

We found this kid at the reenactment.  He is the background on my phone.  Because I love him.

I was introduced to a new (awesome) breakfast spotin the North End – the pancakes are HUUUUUGE!

MARATHON MONDAY – Patriots Day in Boston is truly the greatest thing on this planet.  (Mind you this was the same day as the Sox game…  the marathon goes right next to the stadium so when we walked out we were already part of the crowd!)

I got a $100 giftcard from one of my partners at work and I’m treating myself to these new running shoes (they make me smile and dance):

I get to play volleyball every Wednesday with my BSSC team – I love volleyball.  I love my team… even when Jose is grouchy 😉 (Jose, do you read this??)

Flowers are EVERYWHERE!  YAY SPRING!

Dodgeball.  When was the last time you played??? I definitely need more of it in my life.

Bustins Island adventure – I am forever changed.

Another random morning commute article that made me laugh… I was thinking Mr. Rogers meets Ron Burgundy meets Robin Scherbatsky: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/26/fashion/pat-kiernan-of-ny1-sets-his-sights-on-live-with-kelly.html?_r=1

Took an extended weekend vacay in Chicago with SAM AND JAKE!   If you don’t know Sam and Jake, the three of us have been best friends since 8th grade and they’re the greatest guys ever.  We watched blues bands. Saw the Family Matters house.  Locked Jake Jake locked himself in his own bathroom overnight.  Best weekend ever.  Here’s a little photo diary of us from 2004 – present.  Pretty cute, right?!? 

              

So I’ve got to ask… DOES LIFE GET BETTER?!?!?!  April 2012 is going down in history as ‘The Month That Was’ – a special thanks to everyone that made it possible 🙂

3 Responses to “The Month That Was”

  1. Lill Kohler April 30, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    My what a wonderful beautiful month full of life and activity. Live on!

  2. Lea Kimbrell June 10, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!
    You’re email address is at the office and this was the only the way I could think of to reach you. Have a great day

    aunt Lea

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Thank You to the Patriots | highfiverson - April 16, 2013

    […] The Month That Was – aka the best month of my LIIIIIIFE […]

Leave a Reply

