I Found Love on Bustins Island – The Adventures of Sarah & Vinny

23 Apr

I got an invite (read: I convinced UltiMegan and her friends to let me tag along) for a weekend in Bustins Island, Maine.   In true Sarah-form I heard ‘island’ and came totally prepared: a couple of swimsuits, a couple of tank tops, a pair of shorts, flipflops, and a t-shirt or two.  I’m an idiot… although an island, an island off the coast of Maine is not warm in April.  Lesson learned.  (A special thanks to Megan, James, Byler, and James’ grandmother’s closet for outfitting me appropriately for the weekend).

After a pit stop at Bob’s Clam Hut, we made it to Freeport around 10p and loaded up the good ol’ Buttbreaker with our gear… well… their gear, my swimsuits.  We ventured into the icy waters of the Atlantic, battled the waves through the screaming eel infested waters and made it to the island guided by the light of the stars.  It was better than a dream.  I love Maine.

Bustins Island is three miles off the coast and has one little gravel ‘road’ that loops around the island.  I use the term ‘road’ loosely because there are rarely any motorized vehicles there; in fact, if there were more than one it’d likely cause a huge traffic jam.  There were 11 people on the island that weekend, and we were eight of them… if that gives you any idea how remote this is. The island has about a hundred houses on it, most of which are over a hundred years old.  There is a GINORMOUS rope swing, a post office, a troll bridge, a haunted house, a house built on rocks, houses with outhouses, lots of lobster traps, and a Bustin Jieber cemetery.  Traipsing through the island has made me want to become a professional explorer. 

I’ll upload a picture gallery later so you can look at how cool the island is, because I’m going to devote the rest of this post to Vinny.

By law, any weekend getaway in Maine must involve a lobster dinner.  Saturday evening we went to the market and got eight LIVE lobsters.  Once we got back on the boat with them, I of course had to peek in the bag and pick out my favorite.  You know how they say you find love when you’re not looking for it?  Well I found love this weekend.  I wasn’t looking for it.

Meet Vinny.  If you can’t tell by our faces, it was love at first sight.

I took him back to the house and we hung out on the porch for a bit.  He loved the blue chairs! 

    

We worked on a crossword puzzle together

He introduced me to his friends – they were HILARIOUS

Had a couple beers (don’t worry I checked his ID and this was totally legal)

         

As all best friends are required to do in this era, we took a ton goofy pictures together

    

 I gave him a ride in the wheelbarrel cart!  

He had such a blast he wanted to give ME a ride in the cart too!

I taught him how to ride a bike

                   

Great job, Vinny!

We drove the boat

Hung out in nature

But alas, the inevitable:  time to boil the seawater/seaweed mix for cooking.  I knew this was going to be real tough on me, but Vinny being so noble and sacrificial started the propane tank so I didn’t have to.

He said he needed some alone time.  I found him sitting silently, staring into the ocean.

I got a little emotional so I grabbed him for one last romantic view of sunset… the sunset of our love.

Here is our final goodbye – he was so brave.

R.I.P. Vinny – Your love and sacrifice will be remembered forever.

On a few unrelated notes – I have no idea why I’m not invited on weekend getaways more often.  I have no idea why I’m single.  Maine lobsters are the best lobsters.  James is an amazing cook and an excellent host.  Bustins Island is AWESOME.  Life is gooooooooooooood.

13 Responses to “I Found Love on Bustins Island – The Adventures of Sarah & Vinny”

  1. James April 23, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    I AM an amazing cook and an excellent host. How did you know?

    • highfiverson April 24, 2012 at 10:35 am #

      hahaha unfortunately this was a different James, but I’ll gladly let you and your Mrs. host a weekend getaway and cook me food. You will have to twist my arm

  2. daniella April 24, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    hahaha i LOVE the story and photos. it felt like i was there too haha
    don’t ever stop blogging sarah!

    • highfiverson April 24, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      awwwww THANKS Danjella! I love that you’re blogging again – keep it up lady!

  3. Jamie April 25, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    This was so freakin funny! The pictures of Vinny doing stuff are so great – I was seriously cracking up reading this whole thing. haha.

    • highfiverson April 26, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      thanks, jamie! some may call it a having sick sense of humor… whooops :/

  4. djiverson April 26, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    Way too funny. Not gonna lie though, just as I was starting to like Vinny, you ate him.

    • highfiverson April 27, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      yeah… I was one step away from introducing him to you and madre. sympathy cards and flowers are appropriate.

  5. Izzy Mason April 27, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    After all that quality time together and all the memories you made, you ate him?!! Brutal. If I was ever on a Survivor/Hunger Games hybrid with you, I would immediately forfeit or maybe grab a tiki torch and run to the beach in an attempt to flag down a passing boat. Probably the second option because there’d be a chance that the boat was going somewhere cool.

    P.S. Love the “Princess Bride” reference! Team Westley Unite!!! *fist pump*

    • highfiverson April 29, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

      I’m so glad you caught the PB reference (yes, I’m on initials only with that movie… Something tells me you are too!) I’m honestly not sure anyone else caugh tit! (intentional typo)

      Also – you should totally stay on the survivor-hunger-games island. We would definitely be allies and have so much fun!! I’m ready to quit my job and become a reality star!! Who’s with me?!?

  6. Jason October 28, 2015 at 3:09 pm #

    love your blog you are beyond beautiful. Are you single?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Month That Was « highfiverson - April 30, 2012

    […] Bustins Island adventure – I am forever changed. […]

Leave a Reply

