Where’s the Puck, WAYNE???

1 Mar

“You miss 100% of the shots you never take” – Wayne Gretzky

A famous quote, right?  Everyone knows that one, right??  But what happens when you don’t even know where the puck is?  Or in my case, that the puck even exists?  Here’s a little something that haunts me daily: Wayne Gretzky.  When I say haunts and I say daily, I mean that quite literally.  This is a poster I walked by last night at the high school gym where my volleyball league plays: 

After college, there were a number of people in So Cal trying to coax me into staying out there; they were coming out of the woodwork trying to help me find a job… some were even creating positions for me in their workplaces, at their schools, in their homes… it was truly humbling to feel so loved.  Sadly, my heart was ready for Boston and I had to say tell them, “I really appreciate it, but I think I’ll go to Boston.”  *Cue Augustana lyrics now*

There was one man I had met and really respected a lot – he was an all around great guy, extremely successful, great family and invested a lot of time/money/energy towards helping others… I found out that he owned his own investment firm.  As we sat down to talk one day, he mentioned that he had a job that he wanted me to consider.  Having just graduated with degrees in accounting and finance and unemployment was less than a week away, you can only imagine how thrilled I was for him to approach me about a potential job opportunity.  Maybe this was my out!  Maybe his firm would hire me on!  After all, he is the owner!  Maybe they’d pay for me to take the CPA/CFA exams!  Omg I could get cute business clothes!  Well… my overly optimistic Sarah bubble was burst when the job opportunity he wanted me to consider was in child care.  As a nanny.

I have absolutely nothing against nannies or the job title – only respect.  It honest to goodness terrifies me to thinking of being responsible for someone else’s child(ren).  Same thing with school teachers – mad respect for them and their ability to keep 20+ kids’ attention for longer than four seconds.  Look at what happens when one of my good friends tells her kids to go stand with Auntie Sarah for a picture…

         

Rather than detail all my inadequecies in child care, I politely said “I really appreciate you looking out for me, but I don’t think that is something I’d be interested in.”

Knowing that this was an opportunity I shouldn’t turn down, he tried to persuade me further… “Well, he’s a really really great guy with a great family.”  ::Silence:: Nope, no thanks.  “He’s a pretty wealthy client of mine and I think the pay would be reasonable.”  Still nothing.  “His kids are a little older and you’d have to be ready to go to Europe or Vegas on their private jet just on a whim.”  (idiot idiot idiot, Sarah)   I responded by telling him that it sounded pretty glamorous, but that it was really important for me to use my degree and I didn’t want to be one of those people that invests four years to get a degree and then goes and works in a completely unrelated field.  I am currently kicking myself as I type FYI.

I’m sure he was so impressed with my ability to turn down the glamor, so he tried to seal the deal with the name drop.  In a soft voice and with hesitation he finally said, “Well I shouldn’t tell you this but my client is Wayne Gretzky.  You’d be working for Wayne Gretzky.”

If you didn’t already think I was a complete idiot… here we go: I HAD NO IDEA WHO WAYNE GRETZKY WAS.  So this man might as well had said in his super-secretive-CIA voice “my client is Joe Schmo” …  Same response from this girl.  I ended up saying something along the lines of “I am really thankful for you thinking of me but I think I’m just going to go Boston and figure life out.”  He respected my space and we moved on.

A couple weeks later I was at my mom’s house in Dallas recapping job opportunities (or lack thereof) and I said “Yeah, this guy at the church wanted me to be a nanny for one of his clients and kept trying to convince me to… it was so weird and out of character.  He even told me the guy’s name and it was Wayne Gretzky??  Is that weird?”  My mom’s jaw dropped.  She didn’t know whether she should laugh at my stupidity, or get me on the phone with the guy begging to take me in, or just be shocked… so she kind of went with all of the above and gasped-laughed-head bobbled-tiptoe-danced all at the same time.  This went on for a solid thirty seconds and I was completely lost.  Rather than explain to me why she reacted the way she did (or who Wayne Gretzky was), she went outside to tell our neighbor friends.

It was a typical summer night on the block – the mass of neighborhood kids were running around squirting each other with water guns and the adults were talking to each other in my parents’ front yard; they would occasionally break from their conversations to repremand the 4 year old boys for peeing in our bushes or stop to watch the 5 year old girls prance around in their ‘spawkley’ dress up clothes.  My mom interrupted the adults’ conversation to have me tell my story.  Laughter ensued.  Jokes (that I didn’t get) were flying by me left and right.  One of the dads was completely beside himself amidst the chaos of laughter; he took a few minutes to carefully choose his words and the words he chose were: “SARAH!  DO YOU KNOW WHO THAT IS?!?!” 

This is the first point in my story where I started to realize that I not only had done something stupid, but was also offending everyone in an 800+ mile radius… I had no other way to respond than with a red face and a shoulder shrug.  He paced a little and everyone was anxiously waiting to see how he was going to explain who one of greatest athletes of all time was.  He called his five-year old son over… “Hey Chase – do you know who Wayne Gretzsky is??”  Adorable little blonde haired, blue-eyed Chase was confused as to why he was being called into the adult circle… he hadn’t been peeing in the bushes!  Sweet little guy said “Nope” (THANK GOODNESS) and started to run away.  The adults were about to let me off the hook since the 5 year old also didn’t know who Wayne Gretzky was (love the standards they have for me) until Chase turned back around and said to the adults “I just know that he plays hockey.”

Thanks Chase.  You had to make that as dramatic as possible, didn’t you.

Wayne Gretzky: if you read this, please know that you truly are one of the greatest and you are in extremely great hands with an incredible financial advisor.  Also, I will be happy to nanny your children and am more than willing to hop on your private jet to Vegas and Europe with you and the fam ANYTIME you’d like.

12 Responses to “Where’s the Puck, WAYNE???”

  1. PCC Advantage March 1, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    “How did you not know who Wayne Gretzky was??!!! AAAHHH!!!” ~ Every bone in my Canadian body is just crying out those words….haha.

    Seriously, though, I need to start making friends with your friends…they’re okay with me emailing and calling them every day, right? I’m sure they are…most people would be.

    Fantastic post, Sarah!! 🙂

    • sai04a March 1, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

      hahaha you are too funny 🙂 bloggers unite!! thanks for stopping by!

  2. Tony March 1, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Sarah,
    You made the right move. I’m back at the beginning of the story with your friend who owned the investment firm. He knew what career you were pursuing. He was the one who could have cut you a break. Attempting to get you to watch Wayne’s kids would have been an interesting sidetrack for you, but afterwards, you’d still be pursuing your career and it may have put you behind.

    Its easy for others to say you made a mistake, but I think you made the right move. What would have been really righteous and not completely unrealistic would have been if your friend said, hey, go work for Wayne, then when the kids grow up, you come work for me for doing me that favor and making sure my clients kids have been raised properly.

    Don’t have any regrets. And don’t let that hold you back. It will always make a great story but pursue your dreams and achieve what you set out to.

    Thanks for sharing your story!
    Tony

    • sai04a March 1, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words 🙂 You’ll start noticing a theme in my life.. I get in a lot of really weird situations and I am typically oblivious to the awkward I call my life… haha so this is just one of those things I guess 🙂 I will say I am extremely happy with where I am at, and I’m sure someone way more worthy of the Wayne-Gretzky-Nanny title got the job and was awesome at it 🙂 Thanks for stopping by – I look forward to reading your posts!

      • Tony March 2, 2012 at 5:59 am #

        Hey, thanks for replying to my reply. Actually, I was thinking about your post all night because I kind of stepped over my personal unwritten rules about adding too much of my opinion to someone else’s life in regards to their own blog. I normally don’t do that but saw a lot of me in you, and I am the king of “Almost” in life but in actuality, I think we all are. I just intended to reinforce your decision so you wouldn’t have any regrets about it. I dont know if you know anything about professional boxing, but I was once offered a job to be a ringside announcer for a number one boxing promoter,which most likely would have made me millions of dollars (I didn’t realize that) and give me fame as well. Ever hear the phrase “Lets get ready to rumble!” by a famous ringside announcer? Thats the job I was offered! Lol. What can you do? Not a thing but laugh! Do I regret it? I wonder sometimes, what if? But then I look around me, at my wife and kids and realize, I wouldn’t trade 100 million dollars for that. Have a great day and thanks for replying! And no regrets for us in life, right? Just great stories! 😉

  3. mooselicker March 1, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    What’s a guy gotta do for an autograph?

    Wayne Gretzky was so great that you say “The Great One” people know it’s him. Even his name is practically Greatzky. He had more assists than any other player had goals and assisted combined!

    I’m glad he’s as nice in person as I always thought he was. Canadians tend to be such class acts.

    I didn’t know who Justin Bieber was until really late. Don’t feel too bad.

    • sai04a March 1, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

      haha alright alright mooselicker 🙂 I was trying to figure out who my kids will nanny for (100 years from now if I have kids) and what the equivalent would be… maybe michael jordan? or Justin Bieber? you see, Justin Bieber is this really famous pop singer…. and when you like him a lot, you get this fever. it’s called Bieber Fever… maybe you’ve heard of it?? 🙂 just messin’ – glad you stopped by!

  4. Sarah & Taylor March 1, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    I wish there was a smaller font for comments so I could say (in really small font) after I Wikipedia-d Wayne Gretzky… (normal size font now) I’d like to say: hilarious post.

    Sorry for your loss. If you ever get in touch with WG and need a friend to accompany you on your glamorous trips in the private jet, I’m in. I won’t even charge you for also watching Beckett while I play in Europe. That’s just the kind of person I am.

    • sai04a March 1, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

      garl. i appreciate you wikipedia-ing WG because I almost included a wikipedia link but then figured i literally am the only person who hasn’t heard of him. so thank you for that.
      and when WG googles his name and sees my blog and realizes what he missed out on… you better believe i’m taking you and baby beckett on that private jet! I kind of miss you calling him Taylor 2.0…
      (normal font) it’s always great hearing from you (small font) and so what if I stalk your blog and feel like i’m a part of your life… nbd.

      • Sarah & Taylor March 3, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

        You know what? I miss calling him that too. I hereby reinstate Taylor 2.0 as his unofficial official name…which probably just means I’ll call him that around the house.

        I retold this story as best I could to Taylor. He thought it was mostly embarrassing but also very funny. Then I confessed I didn’t know who he was either. His smile quickly turned to disappointment.

  5. Marilyn March 2, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    This is hilarious for a couple of reasons: One -I don’t have a clue who WG is. Never have. I will look him up in a bit. Second – similar thing happened to me with the nannying, although not with anyone famous. This couple comes up to me in church and says – “We’re wondering if you’d consider nannying….” I said “I’m a nurse.” They said “We think we could pay you more….” I said “I don’t think so”. “Oh we think so” So I told them what I made and their mouths dropped. “Ok then” was all they could say. I reminded them that there was a nursing shortage and that if that stopped being the case, I’d come take up the offer. The other relate-able point in the post is that I interviewed to take care of Lorenzo from the movie “Lorenzo’s oil” – it’s an old movie…and I had never seen the movie, had no idea who this was and refused the job for great reasons. This friend of our said “This would have been your passport to success…” Oh well.

    • sai04a March 5, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

      hahaha Marylin, I love it! and THIS is why we blog 🙂 hope to see you around sooner than later!

Leave a Reply

