I have a love/hate relationship with myself

5 Jan

I had a conversation today and the idea of love/hate relationships popped up… I’m a firm believer in you can’t hate something unless you love something, otherwise.. wouldn’t you just not care about it?  Well… here’s a list of things I really do love and hate (I know, I know… you shouldn’t “hate” anything… so I’ve tried to edit that as applicable).  

Things I love/hate (don’t love, dislike, don’t get, etc): 

Ninja Toes

Love: Seeing ninja toes (socks + flipflops) / Hate: having ninja toes

Love: the feeling of accomplishment you get from finishing a tube of chapstick / Hate: the feeling you get when you can’t remember if you rinsed the conditioner out of your hair

Love: funny things and people laughing / Don’t get: the need to write laughter as ha ha ha, or HAHAHA, or even worse… HA HA HA!  Terrifying.

Love: Burritos!! / Hate: Burrito bowls… are you SERIOUSLY trying to knock off those 30 calories from the tortilla?? Get real.

Love: Countdowns!!! (for anything… even a country music countdown, the anticipation kills me!!!)  Hate: Fake countdowns.

Love: High fives / Really dislike: Fake high fives 😦 why people do that to small children is beyond me! (ok ok.. I do it too sometimes…)

Love: The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster (you should read it) / Not a fan of: Harry Potter.

Love: Boston accents / Hate: Words ending in R’s… today I heard someone say “mecker” as in…. mecca.  Fetar cheese?  Unacceptable. 

Don’t Mind: being caught in traffic / Hate: when I go stand in a long line and NO ONE comes in line after me… you’d be surprised how often this happens

Love: fireworks / REALLY Love: fireworks choreographed to music (Nashville 4th of July 2007, WHADDUP!!!)

Love: Having a normal conversation / Hate: whispering 

Random thought: Isn’t it crazy how the rules of Not It, Gynx, I Called It, and Shotgun still apply…??? Even at age 25. 

Love: blogging / Don’t love: the person who is consistently doing a Google search for “highfiverson” to find my blog – I don’t know who you are, but start following me already!!

Love: roommates! / Hate: additional and unwanted “roommates” … aka The Mouse

Love: Chips on sandwiches / Don’t get: why it’s considered inappropriate to do this after age 9

Love: the word ‘appropriate’ – I feel like it’s extremely underused /Hate: the words ‘actually’ and ‘deserve.’  Two examples: That’s actually a great idea!!  I deserve to be treated like a princess!!  Vomit.

Love: crossword puzzles / Don’t Get: Angry Birds

Love: Pizza (for real) / Hate: I’m 25 and still love pizza – don’t most people get out of this phase after college?

Love: the old log cabin-esque super heavy, warm comforter I add to my bed during the winter (just put it on this week!!!)  / Dislike: getting out of bed

Love: whistling! / Don’t like: the saxophone (even if they have faces)

Love: guys in dressed in business clothes / Don’t get: guys that wear tennis shoes for their commute in their business clothes… are your dress shoes really that uncomfortable??

Love: ma and pa bookshops (my favorite is Brookline Booksmith – pictured on the left!) / Don’t love as much: reading… I definitely spend more time browsing in book shops than I do reading.  / Also don’t get:  the saying “don’t judge a book by its cover” – I judge books by their covers ALL the time…

you better BELIEVE this guy got some jumbotron love

Love: the jumbo tron at sporting events / REALLY love: watching the discomfort on people’s faces when the camera stays on them longer than expected and the dance moves that follow

That’s it for now, friends.  I give myself (and you) full permission to add/subtract from this list as you see necessary.

8 Responses to “I have a love/hate relationship with myself”

  1. Isaac January 5, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    Re tennis shoes on commute (at least with quality leather shoes): so the heel and sole don’t wear out, and so that natural crease that forms from walking doesn’t a) develop as quick and b) dig into your toes. But I only doesn this on my commute.

    • sai04a January 6, 2012 at 10:58 am #

      i had noooooooooooooo idea! thanks isaac for enlightening me on this phenomenon!!

  2. James January 5, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    HA HA HA! this was great!

    • sai04a January 6, 2012 at 10:58 am #

      you and your HA HA HA’s need to get outta here!!!!

  3. djiverson January 5, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    Love: the smell of coconut. Hate: the taste of coconut.
    Love: my little sister’s blog. LOVE!!! my little sister.

    • sai04a January 6, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      the coconut thing is so true! i had coconut water and couldn’t tell if i was regirgitating vomit or drinking coconut water…. at least it smelled good though!

  4. BETH January 5, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    i like jinx spelled like jinx. I also like finishing chapstick, but immediately hate that I have to buy another one.

    you also need to add that you love providing the sought after parking space but hate …maybe circling around to find a spot then have some one weasel in a the last minute (i witnessed this today, i was appalled, it wasn’t to me, but still. I watched the person get out of the car, she seriously whipped her car in front of this huge truck…it was an old lady. they think they have a free do anything i want pass.

    • sai04a January 6, 2012 at 11:05 am #

      my problem with chapstick is i never run out… they somehow multiply and i find 3 sticks in every purse, pants and coat i own!!! i usually lose chapstick before i have a chance to finish it!! booo!!!

      and parking spot… THE worst/best feeling in the world. i love when you don’t even have to search and it’s just there in all it’s glory shining down on you 🙂

Leave a Reply

