A True Texas Thanksgiving… In Pictures

27 Nov

To set the record straight, I am not a Texan.  I grew up on the west coast — my extended family has always lived somewhere in Texas so I guess you could say there are some roots there, but it’s not what I would ever really call home.  I decided to go to college in Abilene, TX and loved every minute of it, but it has provided some confusion among my friends as to where I’m from – I’ll say it again, I’m not from Texas.  Even though I don’t claim Texas as my own, I love my goofy Texas family and will absolutely claim them a hundred times over.  They tend to be about as far from “politically correct” as possible, so please extend the benefit of the doubt that they are the sweetest people you will ever meet that just happen to say some goofy things… bless their hearts.  

So under the assumption that a picture will say a thousand words, I feel like it might be a better way to share about my Thanksgiving in Abilene, TX and the hilarity that is my family rather than try and write it all out – but don’t worry, there are some moments that a picture could never capture and I’ll include those too.  ENJOY! 

Birds eye view of campus flying into Abilene... it's a happening place, can't you tell!?

After getting settled we went to Aunt Trisha's and this was the scene... DJ, Kyle, Uncle Ray, Grady and Uncle Jimmy - bellies out watching football. LOVE THEM

Denver, the eldest grandson who lives in Arkansas with his family called Uncle Jimmy on Facetime to say hello to the fam.  We Texans are always so impressed with technology these days, we passed the phone around and each said yelled hello to Denver’s face and then he put his precious 4-year old daughter on Facetime.  Norah fits in the family well because she is never at a loss for words; she started talking away to Uncle Jimmy and Uncle Ray and white-haired Uncle Jimmy leans over to deaf Uncle Ray and says “what’d she say??” as if Norah couldn’t see them.  Uncle Ray responds “I have no idea” but they continue to smile and make goofy grandpa faces into the phone.  Uncle Ray leans in with his ‘good ear’ to try to hear her better… simulating the use of a normal telephone while poor Norah gets a view of her Pa-Paw’s ear.  I look over, feel sympathy for the poor little girl staring at her grandpa’s ear and remind Uncle Ray – “it’s called Facetime, not ear time!”  Kyle then grabs the remote control to Uncle Ray’s hearing aids (yes – his hearing aids have a remote control) and tries to turn up the volume.  Only my family. 

Granny's house was decorated for fall to max. This decor pretty much sums up our weekend.

Our very southern Thanksgiving meal 🙂 "If you go home hungry, it's your own fault"

Grady sat at the end of the table and I talked him into taking a group picture... now... Grady is not known for his enthusiams towards traditional family things... family pictures included. So when we heard him yell "Mom!! Get in here!! Group photo!!" we all died laughing... captured here. In case you can't see my face in this.. let's go ahead and zoom in, shall we?

Here ya go. This got passed around the table. Everyone was in tears and I now have a new nickname in my family that I will not repeat, because it happens to be extremely NON-pc... this was the topic of our entire Thanksgiving dinner conversation.

Here is a snapshot of my (first) plate. Incredible. In case you can't tell... we have smoked turkey AND ham... also, I have no problem loading up - the turkey wasn't the only thing that was stuffed! As food was passed we did what I like to call the 'baseball yell' which mimics how the vendors at the baseball stadium call out their food... "Sarah, will you pass the cranberry salad" my baseball vendor response: "CRANBERRY SALAD!!" At one point during the meal, Grady surveyed the table and yelled "Squash casserole takes the lead!!!" He was totally right.

No family gathering is complete without a friendly (read: ferocious) game of Scrabble, so after everything was cleaned up and put away, we decided to start a game.

Now don't let this sweet 80 year-old Granny face holding her Scrabble apron with her grandkids' names on it fool you... she gets a little sassy when we start beating her 😉

sometimes she lets me cheat...

... but typically this is the sassy face we get from her during our Scrabble games

Everything was pretty normal in our Scrabble game... until I discovered this play. Take a look at that sassy Granny face and now imagine it with her eyes bulging from her head and smoke coming from her ears. My Granny is an extremely sweet, traditional, conservative Christian little old lady and we all try to be extremely respectful of her. But as I looked at my letters, "PENIS" was just glaring at me and I couldn't see anything else. What to do. If I play this, will I be removed from the will??

I decide to consult my opponent via text from across the table. He looks up from his phone... stares me straight in the eyes and says "A THOUSAND DOLLARS. ONE. THOUSAND. DOLLARS"

Needless to say... I played it. I won (duh!) and Granny's response was: Well it IS a word. Win, win and win.

 Let’s take a break from pictures for a minute and read some noteworthy comments/conversations from the weekend:
 
Grady: Mom – does dad’s voicemail really say “Hi!  This is Jim, Jimmy or James Kimbrell…”
 
Me: *sneeze*
Uncle Ray responding to my sneeze: PAPAYA
Aunt Lea: Oh! Jimmy has a papya tree!!
 
DJ: Get a space helmet and make it Boba Fett The Bargain Hunter
 
Granny: We need to lock up that unicorn
 
Aunt Lea (on Black Friday shopping): Jimmy you’ll be so proud of how much I didn’t spend today
Aunt Trisha: Well HE’S the one that goes to get light bulbs and comes out with a refrigerator!
 
Grady: I mean… I’ll learn taxidermy
  
Grady:  Bacon tastes good with everything.  Name one item of food that doesn’t taste good with bacon.
Me: Cake.  Bacon and cake… gross
Kyle: Actually, I just had a cupcake with bacon the other day and it was incredible
…………10 minutes of this conversation…… we all offer up something, Grady denies us (lasagna, cereal, ice-cream, etc etc etc)
Me (out of silence): GRAPE POPSICLES!!!!! Bacon would NOT be good in a Kool-Aid Grape popsicle!!
Grady: I think that’d be fantastic – you just replace the popsicle stick with some crispy bacon!
 
So the day after Thanksgiving we continued our family time:

Naturally the day after Thanksgiving calls for the day-after-Thanksgiving-sweater, seen above being worn by Aunt Lea

True to any family gathering in Texas, Grady and I look out the window and see Kyle and DJ shooting soda cans in a field from the back porch. Grady and I had a laugh after watching DJ miss a few times and he said "Sarah I bet you could hit that soda can before DJ does."

Challenge accepted. I NAILED it on my first try 😉

I was so surprised I busted out laughing... making for this primo photo op. Thanks Deej.

If you know anything about Texas you know that if one gun is shown, more will follow. This was no exception. Uncle Jimmy appeared from the master bedroom door with his gun.

Which then led to Grady pulling out his 40. IT. WAS. LOUD. I got to shoot all the guns, but the fun ended after I shot THIS gun... something about waving it around after the shock of the kickback causing everyone to duck and cover just didn't go over too well with the guys... whoops.

What Texas-day-after-Thanksgiving would be complete without stripping the house of the fall decorations and putting up the Christmas decor... isn't she adorable??

Have I mentioned that my Granny collects apples? They're eeeevvveeerrryyyywhere. She has a tree with all our names on it. She's had this for a number of years and it's become a staple to her kitchen decor. Do you see an apple on there that looks a little small porportionate to the others?

Let's get a little closer and see who's that is...

...aaaaaand it's Grady's. baaaahahahaha SUCKA!!! I make sure and point it out to him... he's not having it!! He puts Granny on the chopping block and we come to find out that his apple was lost - this was the best replacement she could find. Grady wasn't having it. He recruited me to go on a trip to Hobby Lobby to create a new apple for him that would outshine all the others...

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

Can you tell he was a little bitter??

Let's not forget puzzle time

... or the obligitory game of Hearts...

and what family gathering is complete without finding some old family photos… “Awwww Sarah… the 6th grandson” – Grady
 
I hope you enjoyed a peek into our family and a true Texas Thanksgiving, and I hope you were able to share it with your friends and family 🙂
 
Y’all come back now, ya hear??
 
2 Responses to “A True Texas Thanksgiving… In Pictures”

  1. d.j. iverson (@djiverson) November 27, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    whatever, you can ask Kyle I only missed the can once!

  2. Denver November 27, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    So missed being there. Did the obligatory songs come out..Take Me Out To The Ballgame and The Marine Corps Hymn?
    How to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

